So what now?

As I sit here it seems that May is coming much faster than I would have hoped. We just spiraled into 2010, not even knowing where 2009 had gone.  I just can’t believe it. I mean I feel like I just started college. Where did the 4 years go?

I have always been someone who knew where I was going. I declared my major as a freshman and never looked back. I loved what I was doing and didn’t think I needed to look any further. I have always been involved in school and I can honestly say college has been the best four years of my life…. so far.

That being said… I will not stand to dwell on those four years once I graduate. Therefore, I need a change. Something new. Exciting. Spontaneous. If there is one thing that I regret not doing in college, it is studying abroad. I have traveled and been to Europe but I have always wanted the experience of living somewhere new. I am extremely close to family and friends and cannot imagine not having them in my daily life– but I think I am ready. Ready for my quest for my new chapter.

I have always loved San Diego. I strongly believe that I will end up here. I just believe there are going to be some stops along the way before I declare my permanent residency.

So what now? I ask.

Well my current path is on the idea of au pairing. A good friend of mine from high school has been in France the past year. How fabulous, right? Well I decided to talk to her about her experience au pairing and she has been more than helpful. What an experience it sounds like! I know it isn’t all rainbows and butterflies caring for someone else’s kids for a year… but living in France! Can you imagine? I want the chance to be a part of something new and exciting. I want to live abroad. I want to travel.

I am just trying to muster the courage to leave my surrounding and the people I love. I don’t want to be scared but it is tough to wrap my head around the whole thing. It is seriously all I can think about. I research au pair stuff 24/7. Hoping to find something the springs me forward to a definite yes.

So here I sit. MacBook in hand. Researching my future. And hoping that May will bring something new.

What's your thoughts?

