Because sometimes simple things just need to be hard.

I realize leaving the interior light on in my car is my fault. I also realize that needing a jump is not a big issue… or is it?? I hate comparing but I have to on this one. In the states, when your car needs a jump, what do you do? Ask the first person you see. Problem solved. They have cables, they have a couple minutes to spare, done. Well, not the case here.

I can admit, I do not know much about cars. However, I do know this. And I can confidently say that almost everyone I knew back home also knew how to jump a car. Not only that, but I would say more than half had cables in their car. Well we dont have cables. This is ok, but I feel like my car battery dying should not be a 3 day process. I understand we are all busy but I think the thing that frustrates me the most is that I know what I am talking about! Yet, the “I have to look at it,” is thrown in my face further delaying the process. It really could have been a quick fix. And eliminated me missing class another day.

My favorite phrase I have learned in french class is:

“Pourquoi faire facile quant on peut faire difficile.”

Translation is more or less why do things the easy way when you can do it the hard way. I was so confused in class. I just kept asking, “Isnt it the other way around??” No. It is not. This is France, people.

3 thoughts on “Because sometimes simple things just need to be hard.

  1. Hi, there! I just found your site after blog googling “Au Pair France,” and I just wanted to let you know that I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts! I’m a 21-year-old college senior who is considering a variety of different positions (esp. volunteer opportunities) for the next year of my life, and I can really relate to everything you’re saying. It’s encouraging to hear of someone who is really getting out and doing something. At the risk of sounding totally corny, I find it really inspiring. I don’t know if I could really do what you’re doing, but thank you for writing about it! Bonne chance!

    Carolyn

    • Carolyn-
      Thank you so much for your comment. It means so much to hear a reader like yourself enjoying what I have been writing. I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors! If I can give you any advice… Take the leap and go see the world! You will learn and grow so much. I am excited for you and the endless opportunities you have a head of you! Take advantage!!

      Coco

What's your thoughts?

