The downside of being American

I have spent the last two days, (lots of time for research when you are snowed in…) trying to figure out my next step. I want to stay in Europe a while longer. I also, being a somewhat workaholic, really miss having a real job in my field. I knew that getting a visa was not an easy task, however now it looks like it is near impossible. Apparently, in order to get a work visa anywhere in Europe, the company that hires you needs to prove that you are better qualified than… wait for it… any other EU citizen. Hmmm…. seems kind of like a daunting task, doesn’t it? Especially with the economy where it is at now…

This leaves me with two options: au pair or teach english. So am I ready for 6 more months or a year of a shit job? To me, staying in Europe is worth it.

But… is there anyone out there that can help me? Why can’t a qualified American get to live in Europe and have a real job?!?

What's your thoughts?

