Why Travel?

I have been working on my STA World Traveler Internship video and it has really got me thinking. I realize I am completely obsessed with traveling and all of my expendable cash (although very little) goes to my next adventures. But that is just me. There are plenty of people who don’t think this way and to tell you the truth it blows my mind. Now, I am not judging or saying different mind sets than mine are wrong. Well, because they aren’t. Everyone is different. However, to me, there is absolutely nothing that compares to the experience of travel.

Being an au pair is anything but glamorous. The days are tough and I feel like a mom of kids that aren’t mine at 22 years old. Love them to death, but still. So why do it? I find myself asking that all the time. Then I realize everything I have experienced in the last 7 months– good and bad. There are friends I have here that I have gotten closer with in a few months than with friends I have known my whole life. There is something about breaking out of your comfort zone that brings people together. That is one of things I like most about travel– the people you meet. The incredible thing is, when traveling, the type of people you meet always have at least one thing in common… the love of travel. I can proudly say I now have friends from all over the world. And the thing is, we really are not all that different.

Traveling makes the world smaller and people closer. I think when you are only able to travel for a short amount of time, you are really only able to pick out the differences that culture has from your own. But the longer, and more, you travel you realize that are people and cultures share such similarities. We are all tied together. The world is such a magnificent place and there are so many thing to explore. I just can’t imagine not having the drive to see it all. Every trip I take or new person I meet, I take something from it.

I am a college graduate. Yes I whole heartedly believe that studies are extremely important. But to tell you the truth, I have learned more in these past several months than most of my time in college. And that my friends, is why I don’t want to stop. I don’t want to stop seeing what the world has to offer. I don’t want to stop exploring. I don’t want to stop meeting incredible people from all over the world.

The thing is though, I know I am not going to stop. Whether I move back home or not. Yes, it is way more convenient to live in Europe but I am not going to let location stop me. I will always be a traveler.

2 thoughts on “Why Travel?

  1. Hy!
    I just envy you. REally, travelling around the world,me who barely leave the south of the Brazil.
    Well, I just looking fot change these cenario with my family.
    Do you know somewhere in Paris or AUX-Provance that I can rent, something like a family home to stay?
    Well, I know that your are in a rush, but any time….
    I will back soon.
    Regards,
    Aline

    • Hello Aline!
      Thanks so much for your comment! Dont be envious… just get out there and do it!! There is always a way to travel if you want to make it happen! There are plenty of resources online if you do research. You can au pair almost anywhere you want to go!! As far as au pairing here are some good websites for a start:
      – greataupair.com
      – aupariworld.net
      – newaupair.com

      Hope this helps! Best of luck to you!

What's your thoughts?

