Making the unreal real

There are so many times that the au pairs talk about how we aren’t living a real life. I mean, if you think about it, it is quite silly. 20-something girl living in a stranger’s house in a foreign country spending up to 60 hours a week sometimes with kids and then trying to live a normal life on the weekend. Dont get me wrong– I would never change making the decision to this for the world. Although its weird, it truly is the most incredible experience I have ever had. I honestly believe everyone should take a chance like this. I have met amazing people I wouldn’t have otherwise. I mean my best friend is from Austria… how would that have happened?? I have also gotten the chance to travel, which also would otherwise be too expensive and impossible. Not to mention, I have grown a substantial amount due to sticking myself in a crazy situation– moving to a foreign country where I didn’t know the language and living with people I didn’t know.

So that being said… I am seriously considering making my life real here. The last month or so I have been invested in making this a possibility to stay here. And for those who know me, if I want something, I get it. I am quite a persistent person!

However, I kept getting discouraged due to the issues in being American and obtaining a work visa. But I am not going to let that stop me. I talk to everyone I know about wanting to stay here. C’mon… my whole college career was based on networking… it’s ingrained in my brain! Anyways, eventually it worked out. I managed to score an interview for an event management/travel company. I couldn’t believe I was going to an interview in Paris!!!! If nothing else, it has given me hope that this is possible.

The interview went well but of course just like the obstacle of being American, language is a huge issue. My French is coming a long but I am nowhere near where I should be to be completely comfortable getting a job in a French company. The thing is, I can work on it. I can make it happen. Learning French has been one of the hardest things while I have been here. But if perfecting it means getting a job then I am going to make it happen. So we shall see. Hopefully in the next few weeks I will know better what is going on after this part of my life.

I just can’t believe where I am at. I am currently planning to get my first real out of college job in Europe. I would have never guessed… ever. It is an incredible feeling though. I dont really know what I am doing or where I will be in a few months but I know its going to be right. And that’s all the comfort I need.

Let’s go world. What next are you going to throw at me??? I am ready.

What's your thoughts?

