Sun and Tapas Make Everything Better

I have been under a massive amount of stress lately. Last week I think I cried just about everyday. I realize I am making a giant decision to stay in a foreign country, pick up a 9 to 6 job, and live by myself. I get it but sometimes those things that seem like difficult but possible tasks turn into mountains of impossibilities. Last week it seemed like every time I figured something out, something else came crashing down.

But. That is not the reason for this post. The reason is my last weekend in Sevilla. I have been fortunate enough to travel many places but so far I have to put Spain at the top of my list. Aggie and I decided to book Sevilla in the midst of the frigid French winter. We literally googled “hottest city in Europe” and stumbled upon Sevilla. Not knowing anything about it besides the possibility of lots of sun, we booked a long weekend there. Man did exceed expectations. I am not going to write a play by play because I don’t really think that is too interesting but I will give some highlights.

Aggie and I really did not have much on the agenda besides relaxing and drinking sangria. The hostel we stayed at, the Garden Backpacker (highly recommended), had lots of things to do and tours to sign up for. On the first night, Friday, they had a paella dinner which was delicious–of course served with sangria! That night Aggie and I signed up for the “Nightlife Tour” which I could not have been more pleased about. Not just because the 10 euro sign up fee got me what seemed to be an endless supply of alcohol, but because we got a chance to meet a bunch of new people. Our hostel in general was awesome for this. And as I have said over and over, this is my favorite part. We got to hang out a bunch at our hostel because there was a good group of people staying there. It is always so interesting how people got to where they are now. So many different stories and backgrounds–all leading to the same place at the same time. It blows my mind. And apparently the concept of au pairing and an American being best friends with an Austrian blows people’s minds as well! I do have to throw in that I am quite proud of my Austrian being mistaken for American over and over. Fabulous English skills and accent right there! 🙂

The next day Aggie and I, although completely struggling from the night before, decided to make the most of the day and do some sightseeing in Sevilla. Sevilla is home to the world’s largest Gothic church and 3rd largest church overall. Along with the church there is a tower with one of the most incredible views. You can see all of Sevilla. After the trek up and down the tower, Aggie and I rested in the courtyard filled with orange trees. This was one of those moments that I wish that I could just bottle up. You know, when a camera just doesn’t do it justice. It was everything about that moment. The smell of jasmine and the warmth of the sun mixed with the beauty of the surrounding orange trees with the massive church behind us. Aggie and I both just sat there in awe. It was probably one of my favorite moments since being here.

One of the most imperative things we had on our to do list was going to the beach. Sevilla is situated in the south of Spain but not on the coast. The nearest beach, Matalascañas, is about an hour and a half away… if you take a direct bus, which Aggie and I decided to spice up a bit. 🙂 Anyways, the beach is the best place in the world to me. Since the weather has been getting warmer, I have been really missing living right next to a beach. It was important to me to just have a relaxing day by the ocean and that is just what we got. It was gorgeous and the weather was great. Although I left with a souvenir of a terrible sunburn, it was worth it.

Point being. This holiday could not have come at a better time. I really was worried I was going to feel stressed out and regret leaving for the weekend. But actually it was just what I needed. I feel rejuvenated and it helped me see how great it is that I am doing this. I am making a huge decision and I couldn’t be happier. The stress of the visa, finding a job, finding a studio…. that will all be behind me. And when I look back on this journey I will remember how much I grew and how incredible it was to see the world.

4 thoughts on “Sun and Tapas Make Everything Better

  1. I have really good memories of Spain. I think it is one of the warmest places in Europe, they get spring before anybody else!

    I have a craving for tapas now… unfortunately, the only tapas place around charges about $10 per tapa. What a rip-off!

What's your thoughts?

