“You just have the worst luck”

This is one of my host mom’s favorite thing to say to me. I actually think it’s quite humorous considering this “awful luck” would have never been here if it wasn’t for them.

I got a flat tire today. And then walked about an hour on the side of the road in the middle of nowhere to my house. I am honestly not going to get into all crap that happened today or the fact that there was absolutely no help from my host parents. I just don’t have the energy.

The point is, I had some time to think on this journey home. So much has happened to me since moving here. A lot of shit. Seriously, looking at everything, I guess it makes sense she thinks I have bad luck. But the thing is. I am still ridiculously happy. Everything else in my life is incredible. Today, when I was crying on the side of the road, wondering how to book a ticket home, I called Aggie. And that right there makes me happy. If I never moved here, I would have never met her. I know this sounds so mushy but I had someone to call. Someone that legitimately cares. I don’t really like to rely on people (since I like to pretend I am tougher than I am 🙂 ) but it’s ok with her.  That friendship alone is worth everything I have gone through here. But that isn’t just it, I have really had a great experience overall here. Obviously. Why else would I stay? There is only one area of my life that all this bad luck piles into and guess what? It’s over in 26 days.

A lot of people ask me how I do this. I always say you need a good sense of humor, a lot of patience, and a good attitude. Everything looks better when you are optimistic. These people who I have decided to share my life with the last 9 months could have easily broken my spirit, but that would just be plain silly to let that happen, wouldn’t it?

“Tough times never last, but tough people do.”  Robert H Schuller

What's your thoughts?

