Closing a Chapter

I came to France with the idea I would be here just one year. I wanted to learn a new language, experience a different culture, and most importantly grow. I have to say, that on my last day of au pairing, I can look back and say I have done pretty well. The past 10 months have been filled with up and downs. Most of the time I was sitting here wondering why I am so lucky, but there were also days I wondered why I ever chose to do this. Although my French is still completely rubbish, I really feel like I have gotten the most from this experience so far.

I never thought that today would be like this. I thought I would be filled with sadness to leave a family I cared so deeply about. Sad to say though, although I will miss the kids dearly, today is nothing what I imagined. With the feeling that I can’t go fast enough from the parents, it really makes me upset about all the time and effort spent. I understand that they are mad I am leaving but I do wish this could have ended on a better note.

On the other side, I cannot believe I am moving tomorrow into the center of Paris into my very own place. I havent even wrapped my head around it yet I don’t think. I have never lived alone, let alone in PARIS. Ahhhh. I can’t wait. I am really looking forward to the next chapter in my life. I have faith that everything will work out. And hey, if it doesn’t it was an experience, right?

2 thoughts on “Closing a Chapter

  1. That’s exactly what I told myself when I moved from Bretagne into my tiny little shoebox in Paris. I thought – if nothing else, at least I will have given it a shot and lived in Paris for a few months. It was also my first time living alone, and to my surprise, I actually enjoyed it.

    Now it’s three years later, and I have a great apartment, a job I love, and I’m engaged to a wonderful Frenchman. πŸ™‚

    So just wanted to say this post really made me smile – this is such an exciting time for you. You’ve been fighting so hard to make this happen and I’m crossing my fingers that it all works out in the end!!

    • You have no idea how happy this comment made me. It came at a perfect time too! It really gives me hope and makes me feel good to know other people have gone through the same things. I hope in 3 years I can be where you are!! Congrats on your engagement by the way πŸ™‚ Thank you again for your words. You should know that you helped me a bunch!

What's your thoughts?

