A Bit of Botany in the City

Every once in a while I decide to be a tourist in Paris. When you live somewhere, it isn’t like you go to a new spot, museum, or attraction every weekend. Yes, I live in Paris. Yes, my city is awesome. But yes, this is also my life.

Sometimes I think that people have a slightly tweaked view on the expat life. From the outside it looks like a serious of travels, amazing adventures, and great experiences living in a foreign country. This is of course true. But there is also a lot more to it. This is also my life and it is filled with good days and bad days. Living in a foreign country presents challenges you never knew existed. It is true each day is an experience but it is not all good. I am by no means complaining because I would not trade this for the world. This year has been tough but an experience I would never change. I love my life and all the good and bad that comes with it.

Now that the disclaimer is out there I can explain my awesome touristy weekend exploring the incredible city I have called my home for over 13 months now.  I have decided to create a sort of Paris bucket list to get me motivated to take advantage of my current living situation a bit more. It’s not forever that I can say I have a view of Sacre Coeur from my window…

Jardin des Plantes

One of the things on my list was the Jardin des Plantes. This is a huge botanical garden that is home to various museums, a zoo, as well as a botanical school, all covering 280,000 m². It is impressed and beautiful. Paris finally has some decent summer weather so it was perfect timing to explore the gardens. They have plants from all over the world. I also got to go inside the small zoo, which was so fun. I giggled at all the animals and enjoyed the day observing all the little creatures. Although the zoo is relatively small, they have a good variety of species from many places in the world. It really was a perfect way to spend the afternoon in the sun.

One of the things I love most about Paris is the diversity in the gardens and parks. It is incredible to me that I can hop on the metro and ride for 10 minutes and end up in a place like the Jardin des Plantes. It is like a whole other world a few stops away.

 

Gosh, I really do love Paris.

One thought on “A Bit of Botany in the City

What's your thoughts?

