I am so excited [No French translation]

I think I overuse the phrase “I am so excited.” This realization came about when I floundered for French words to explain my emotion because the direct translation of it is far from what I mean. Part of me thinks it is because French people don’t get excited. Why have a way of saying something that doesn’t exist, right? Another part of me thinks it is because everything has to be complicated in this language. For example, I asked my colleague what the correct way to say how I was feeling and it actually turned into a 10 minute conversation. End result: no, there is no way to say I am excited just like you can simply say I am happy. Alors, je suis impatiente de prendre mes vacances…

When I sat down to write this post, I didn’t have the purpose to comment on language or cultural differences of the French (seems to turn into that quickly all the time though!). The true purpose of this post was to get my intense excitement down on paper and hopefully relieve some of the built up energy inside me. I want to scream. I cannot wait for the next few months. I am finally using my holiday to travel and not to visit home to fix visa issues. Not that home is a horrible vacation; I am just looking forward to getting to spend weeks traveling. I usually have to fit my adventures into a long weekend but now I get to actually take a proper holiday… a few actually!

And what is even better is I am going to places that have been on my dream list. I never could have imagined this year I would be traveling to a new continent. I have cut out pictures from travel magazines and carelessly day dreamed of the moment I would be sitting on the unmatched beaches of Southeast Asia. In two weekends, I will be snapping photographs of the infamous canals of Venice (and filling my tummy with delicious Italian food!). In just a few months, I finally will get to head more east in Europe and see the magnificent cities of Budapest and Prague.

It is too much to handle. I cannot believe how quickly everything is approaching. As a sacrifice, I know that I will be sitting at my desk during the busy summer months for over 40 hours a week while all the French vacate the city. But at least I will have pictures of my recent adventures to longingly gaze at!

So countdown.

8 days until Venice.
3 weeks until Thailand.
2 and a half months until Budapest and Prague.

Hey readers! Does anyone have any suggestions for these places? I would love to hear your thoughts if you have been to any of these cities. Thanks 🙂

5 thoughts on “I am so excited [No French translation]

  1. I ran into the same struggle. One day, to express my excitement, I said “Je suis exitee”. Of course, this caused everyone to burst out into laughter because it meant I was “excited” in the “frisky” sense. Now, I just say, “Je suis super contente.” As for Thailand, do not miss Phi Phi Island. It’s probably the most beautiful place I’ve ever been! Enjoy!

  2. Ditto on Phi Phi Island…It is astonishing. Go to (if you have time) the northern Thai town of Mae Hong Son, which is every bit as gorgeous as Phi Phi. I loved every single moment of my 21 days in Thailand: great food, nice people, easy to get around; beauty everywhere. Buy some gorgeous raw silk and come home make curtains and pillows from it so you have memories every day…

    Venice is lovely. I especially liked the Palazzo Fortuny, the studio of Mariano Fortuny, who was an early inventor of lighting and textile design.

  3. You have every reason to be excited. You have worked hard and deserve a break. You love travel, so I am excited for you.

    In regard to the french not having the words or phrases for “I’m so excited” I find that to be sad. How can an entire language/culture full of art, fashion, food, etc., not have that phrase?

What's your thoughts?

